The McParland Memorial Award

For excellence in maintenance engineering and reliability in the minerals industry

Donald J. McParland was a founding member of the Mechanical-Electrical Division and its first Chairman. After a short and distinguished period with Noranda and Rio Algom, he joined the Brinco organization and eventually became its president and chief executive officer, primarily responsible for the design and construction of the giant Churchill Falls project. His brilliant career was tragically ended in 1969 at the age of forty in an airplane crash at Labrador City. Mr. McParland was engaged in a tour as a CIM Distinguished Lecturer at the time, concentrating his efforts on the small isolated Branches of the Institute. The Mechanical-Electrical Division was established by Mr. McParland and his CIM associates in 1961 to provide a forum for the people and the technology in the field, which had become such a vital part of the mining industry, filling a recognized need. It seemed totally appropriate that a suitable award, under the auspices of the M-E Division, should be established, and that it should commemorate the memory of the founding Chairman and a most remarkable Canadian engineer. Approval for the award was given by the CIM Council in 1972 and sponsorship for the design and execution of the Medal was generously undertaken by Churchill Falls (Labrador) Corporation, for a period of 10 years. The fallen maple leaf in the design depicts a young Canadian abruptly severed from his life and country at the height of his career - a most fitting tribute.

More details


The CIM Fellowship Award (National)

For outstanding continuous contributions to CIM and/or the mining, metallurgical and petroleum industries

The CIM Fellowship award was established by CIM Council in November 1986. The award differs from existing CIM awards in that a larger number of members can be recognized – up to 10% of the membership can be CIM Fellows – and the recognition visibly continues after the time of presentation. A CIM Fellow can place "FCIM" after his name when deemed appropriate. The selection of CIM Fellowship award winners is under the auspices of the CIM President-Elect, and recipients are chosen through a three-tier process designed to promote uniformity and fairness. The Fellowship Award will consist of a certificate suitable for framing, and will be presented at the Annual General Meeting or at an appropriate Society, Division, District or Branch meeting. The names of new Fellows will be announced in the CIM Magazine. With the Fellowship Award, the Institute will recognize many of its distinguished members for their achievements and contributions. Successful implementation will require the cooperation of members in each discipline represented by CIM and in all geographic regions of Canada.

More details


The CIM MER Graduate Student Research Excellence Award

The aim of the award is to provide a platform for the dissemination of innovative thinking of benefit to the mining industry from the Society’s brightest new minds, and to provide a means to allow such contributions to be recognised.

The award will permit a current or recent graduate student to attend the MER Society’s MeMO conference to present their findings. The winner of the award will be recognised through the peer review process of the CIM Journal. The award is expected to be made annually. It is open to graduate students currently enrolled at a University, or those who have obtained their postgraduate qualification no more than six months prior to submission.

More details